explorers' club

explorations in dev, science, sci-fi, games, and other fun stuff!

Silverlight: Shock & Awe or Shake & Yawn

Leave a comment

If you haven’t heard, Microsoft unveiled their new Silverlight product thingamajig at NAB in Las Vegas. Check it out these links:

I don’t know about you but I wasn’t all that impressed. What really irks me is that the videos will definitely lure in the Biz folks (you know, the folks we developers generally get our development requirements from). Then we will see yet another explosion of I-don’t-know-what-it-is-or-what-it-does-but-I-want-it requirements like we often see with Flex.
What I think is noteworthy is that Microsoft brings Silverlight to the table like its a major contender to the Flash platform. It might have a limited number of advantages over Adobe (one being that it will tap into the GPU instead of the CPU for certain visual operations, and I hope Adobe picks up on this) but can it really overcome Flash Player’s penetration stats and general appeal to designers and developers? Only time will tell.

It will be interesting to see how this takes off as I dislike monopolies and encourage healthy competition in a world of mergers, conglomerates and mega-corporations. I am certainly neither pro-Microsoft nor anti-Microsoft. Like everyone, I have my issues with their products. I also enjoy many of their products. But I really think this is one of many-to-come death throes from Microsoft as it finds itself struggling to reinvent itself in an emerging Web2.0-ish world. Many people are speculating on what is the next step for Microsoft in its current incarnation.

Maybe later if real genuine interest develops for Silverlight AND it presents itself as a major contender to the Flash platform, I might go get the SKD. But for now Flex and Flash are my babies.

Leave a Reply

